Wk12- Art Experiences- Ethnography

I spent my evening on my bed, if I was going to go a night without electricity I might as well do it someplace comfortable.

At first, I thought to myself “okay this isn’t so bad I can do this,” but after a while, it had gotten boring without my phone or my laptop. I usually read before bed, but the problem was I would read on my phone. I paid more attention to sounds and noises coming from the outside. I was glad I had spent my day giving a tour of CSULB because that helped tired me out along with a medicine that made me drowsy. I was able to fall asleep without any problem. Once my eyes adjusted to the darkness I slowly drifted off to sleep. I’m not sure what time I fell asleep that night, but I had gotten into bed at 9 pm and it felt like it didn’t take long before I drifted off to sleep. Most nights I wouldn’t be sleeping till 1 or 2 am so I would say I did get better sleep. I honestly thought this experience was going to be hell, but it wasn’t as bad as I though. If I had lit a candle instead of just sitting in darkness then maybe the experience wouldn’t be as bad too, maybe it could have been fun to read a book against a candlelight, although my family will probably yell at me and tell me it isn’t good for my eyesight. Living without is definitely more organic and harmonious with nature because you don’t have the constant distraction that technology will give. Living without electricity is boring though because I am so custom to watching my shows. I think people survived without constant stimulation because they found other things to pass time with, like actual socializing. My ideal level of life activity and connectivity would be to connect with other people, talk to them about anything, your interest in bowling or why they prefer horses over cows. For an ideal level of life activity, I think it would be going out and having adventures, like going for a night hike or build a tent in the backyard or a tree house and sleep in it at night.

Leave a Reply

